Facebook’s Updated Privacy Settings: How To Lock Down Your Account Now

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
spot_img

Kate O'FlahertyKate O’Flaherty

Straight Talking Cyber

Whether the redesigned Facebook privacy settings are actually more simple is a matter of opinion, but it does outline the importance of checking your account and making sure it’s as locked down as possible.

One of the best updates is a shortcut for your Facebook account’s privacy checkup, allowing you to do a quick test to see how your data is being used. In tandem, an update to Facebook’s Transfer Your Information tool is great for those who might be considering deleting the social network.

How to lock down Facebook 

Everyone knows how data-hungry Facebook is, and if you still want to use it, you need to make sure it’s as secure and private as possible. The first thing you can do for your security is ensure you have a strong password protecting your Facebook account, preferably using a password manager. Then you should set up two factor authentication preferably using a security key such as the YubiKey.

Now for privacy. There are settings in Facebook that allow you to ensure your account is only visible to friends, or even certain friends. It’s as simple as going through these one by one.

The most important privacy settings in Facebook, in my opinion, are related to advertising and how you are tracked as you browse the internet. Apple’s iOS 14.5 brought in a setting called App Tracking Transparency that allows you to limit Facebook tracking, but it doesn’t help you when you are using another device such as a laptop.

It’s widely agreed that Facebook does way too much tracking. And the social network’s entire business model is based on advertising—which makes it necessary for Facebook to collect large amounts of data.

If you care about privacy, you can turn off your Off-Facebook activity in the Your Facebook Information setting. This covers information that businesses and organisations share with Facebook about your interactions with them, such as visiting their apps or websites.

In addition, go into your Facebook account and check out your advertising profile. You can go through each setting one by one and turn it off. On your browser, it’s in Settings & Privacy under Ad Settings, or you can go via the Privacy Checkup. Locking these down won’t stop your receiving adverts on Facebook—they will instead become less relevant–but it’ll certainly make your experience less creepy.

Source : Forbes

spot_img

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Διαβάστε ακόμα

Stay Connected

2,900ΥποστηρικτέςΚάντε Like
2,634ΑκόλουθοιΑκολουθήστε
17,300ΣυνδρομητέςΓίνετε συνδρομητής
- Advertisement -spot_img

Τελευταία Άρθρα